A Conversation on Inspiration

IMG_6339I can now add Children’s Books Expert, Obsessive Hair Toucher, Frequent Hand Waver, Professional Book Reviewer and Panelist to my resume.

Processed with VSCO with 4 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 preset

Funny story: A few weeks ago, I received an invitation to a media event. It was a Q&A session with Jamila Rizvi about the importance of imagination and literature, particularly during childhood. There would also be a light brunch. Of course I said hell. yes. I will be attending.

Fast forward to yesterday, when I turned up to the venue and was welcomed by the most beautifully laid out brunch, with the “red carpet” being beautiful book quotes. I was already loving it. I mentally went over the questions I had prepared the night before and mingled with the other lovely ladies who were invited. The weird thing was that the whole thing looked so intimate and there weren’t that many people. I started to get worried that I didn’t have enough questions to fill up the allocated hour.

Finally, I asked: “Where are all the people?” That’s when I found out that I wasn’t the one who would be asking the questions… I’d be the one answering them. And they’d be streaming the conversation live on The Book Depository’s Facebook page.

And that, my friends, is how I found out that I would be on my very first panel.

In terms of the actual conversation, talking to the other women about books and the effects it had on our childhoods was enlightening and interesting. I think we all pretty much agreed that books are a form of escape from the real world, and essential in helping us understand others and fostering empathy; ultimately making us better humans.

Upon re-watching a few minutes of myself speak (or more accurately, fumble for my words. I’m a better writer I promise!), I had to turn it off after I noticed that I talk a lot with my hands and constantly touch my hair (I swear I’m just pushing it out of my face!). If you still want to watch it though, head to The Book Depository’s Facebook page.

IMG_6311

Leave a Reply

