Skincare routine for sensitive skin

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

My current, daily skincare routine and products for really, really sensitive skin

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

For context, I have really sensitive skin. “Experts” I’ve spoken to say that I have combination skin but it’s a bit more specific than that. During the summer, my skin is low maintenance; whenever I’m in Samoa or somewhere humid, my skin is flawless without any products. During winter, however, my skin starts throwing tantrums. In particular, my cheeks and forehead get very oily, but the corner of my mouth, my nose and my eyelids get really dry. I also have eczema and when the days start to get cold, the eczema starts to appear on my neck sometimes.

It took a while to finally perfect a routine, which to be honest, changes every year as the products that work for me one season never work the same the next year. Like I said – I have really, really sensitive skin.

Anyway, here’s my current routine that seems to be working well. It involved a lot of minor tweaking, visits to different “experts” and a whole lot of sample products, but I’m finally satisfied enough to share it. I hope this helps if you also have sensitive skin, and please feel free to share any products I can try!

MORNING:

  1. Wash face with Aēsop Fabulous Face Cleanser
  2. Use Aēsop Mandarin Facial Hydrating Cream
  3. If I feel like I need makeup/coverage, I use Chanel Healthy Glow Sheer Powder

NIGHT:

  1. On weekends when I have time (usually Sunday), apply Kiehl’s Rare Earth Deep Pore Cleansing Masque
  2. Wash face with Aēsop Fabulous Face Cleanser
  3. Use QV Face Night Cream (I put this on my neck too, especially when my eczema creeps up)
  4. Slather Lucas Pawpaw Ointment all over mouth (lips, corners, err’thang)
Leave a Reply

